My First Steam Engine.

Posted: February 19, 2011 in Trains

When building my train set I knew the main engine that I wanted was a fixed-wheel older style engine rather than a diesel or electric powered one. My first idea was to get a Harry Potter Hogwarts Express (the one from the movie, and yes I know I am a nerd) engine and go with the European style theme for my lay out. I ended up purchasing one on Craigslist for $80+$20 shipping which is a deal considering they were going on Ebay for $150.

After weeks of anticipation and finally receiving the train, I opened the package in a 3rd down, game on the line -blitzing off the edge like manner only to find out that the turns were too tight for the train engine! After readjusting the track about 10 times and finally coming to the realization that it would not work I turned to ebay and sold it for $138 (first time seller and no positive reviews killed me).

A few weeks later I came across a used fixed steam engine that would normally go for 100+ new but was on sale for only $25! I was nervous about buying it at first because I didn’t know if it could make the turns but it worked out great!!

Leave a Reply

